Class Trips and Good Days

This school year I have a star chart.

IMG_20161122_075959168

Every time my students get a hundred percent or a perfect lesson they get to put a star up. We have been celebrating every 100th star. My original goal for them was 800. They are now almost at 1000!

(We did a chart last year as well but only for Test and Quizzes. We celebrated every 75th Star and had a goal of 300 which we surpassed. Thanks to Wendell Miller for the idea.)

I’m not sure if I remember every thing we did, but I will share some pictures from a few of the bigger things we did as rewards for the star chart this year.

We had a picnic lunch in Ouray and then visited Box Canyon Falls (Box Cañon).

IMG_9002IMG_8978

IMG_8996IMG_8988IMG_8981

IMG_8993IMG_8995

 

We went to Junction and had lunch at Chick-fil-A and went skating at Glacier Ice Arena. (Thanks to Haley for taking these while I was busy skating.)

IMG_0016IMG_0017

IMG_0040IMG_0046

IMG_0047IMG_0043

 

One afternoon we went into Delta for coffee.

This is the only picture I have from that.

IMG_20170127_141527882

 

We had some smaller things just at school like Game Day and a pizza party to celebrate other star goals. I don’t think I have pictures of those.

The most recent excursion was our biggest for the year. It was to celebrate our original goal of reaching 800.

We went took the whole day off school and went to hiking at Colorado National Monument. We ate a picnic lunch there and then went to Bananas Fun Park in Grand Junction and played Laser Tag.

Here are a few pictures from the hike.

IMG_0248IMG_0250

The boys liked hiking right on the edge while the girls were happy to try safe things like going through a tunnel in the rock.

IMG_0252IMG_0255

IMG_0256 

I had put off this trip for awhile because I was very busy and also because I was waiting for nice weather. Then I suddenly realized I needed to get it done before Micah was done with his work and out of school. I have to admit I lacked faith that it would all work out at the last minute. But God answered my prayers despite my weak faith and everything came together amazingly well! Thanks, Mariann, for being willing to drive us and help chaperone! I really enjoyed the day and I think the students did too.

It was definitely one of my best days in awhile! And another wonderful part of it was not having checking to do that evening! (I did have typing papers that I checked Saturday.) I was able to spend my evening sewing and finish a dress. (Finally a Sunday dress for Spring!)  And that Saturday I was able to take an hour and go four-wheeling with one of my students and enjoy it without feeling the pressure of school work that needed done. That afternoon I went to school and administered Micah’s diploma-qualifying test. It was good to get that out of the way! I can hardly believe I have a student graduating!

The next week was a bit more hectic as we had only 2.5 days of school and then Easter break and I was trying to get ready to leave for Nevada. But we got everything done that needed done. And although my packing was so hasty I forgot a few things, I had a very good vacation in Nevada. It is amazing what a little rest and relaxation can do for a person! Thanks to Kendra and her family for allowing me to come!

This past week at school went pretty well. I was blessed Thursday by having Heidi help me with checking after school! As I had typing to check that evening and packing to do it was a great boost!

Over the weekend we teachers babysat for one of the families in Delta. I wasn’t sure how it would be, but I got my checking done in decent time Friday evening and was able to enjoy the weekend. And with three babysitters we even had some leisure time!

Now just to make it through the last two weeks of school! Thanks to everyone who has been praying for me! I would ask that you continue to pray that I could just remember to focus on one moment at a time and that I would hand all my burdens over to Christ and not try to bear them on my own.

Well, as is usual, this post took longer and turned out differently than I though it would, but it does catch you up on my life a bit and finally I’ve posted some pictures!

Wishing everyone a wonderful week filled with blessings from the Lord!

Leave a Reply

