Catch Up—Part 3

And now for Michigan! Winking smile

It was rather rainy the first while and we didn’t do too much.

One afternoon we went with Marcella and Fanny to the greenhouse and got some plants.

IMG_20170601_144828391

One of my favorite experiences while in Michigan was eating Brook Trout. They fry the fish whole (no guts, tho). Winking smile If they are small you can eat the whole thing, including the head. I didn’t eat the head of mine. Smile The tail is a special delicacy. Very nice and crispy, kind of like a potato chip. What a delicious meal! Thanks, Mike, for inviting us!

IMG_20170605_191608015IMG_20170605_194207709

I also got to help Connie do some discing for a farmer by Germfask. I really enjoyed the chance to do that!

IMG_20170602_132408642_HDRIMG_20170606_102550291_HDR

Farming in Michigan is a bit different from Virginia. Notice those white birds behind Con’s tractor? Those are seagulls. A different sight than what I am used to! We were glad for the cabs on our tractors. Winking smile

I had an interesting experience while helping on the farm the second day. As we were discing, my disc started piling on the left front corner. Here I had a bad bearing. So I had to take my disc back to let Edgar fix that. While he was working on that he told me to go with Jennifer to help load a cow and calf.

We headed over to her farm to do that. Before loading the cattle we needed to put them through the shoot and pull some afterbirth out of the mom and give the baby a shot. It ended up being a little more complicated than we thought. Jennifer and I did manage to give the calf its shot, but we couldn’t get out the afterbirth. Edgar came over to help us.

Here the afterbirth was fermenting inside the cow. Yuck! As Edgar started getting it out, it smelled terrible! I didn’t think that much of it at first, but I started to feel a little woozy. So I sat down for awhile. As that wasn’t really helping, I went outside to walk around; but it just wouldn’t go away. My vision was mostly blacked out. I went back in the barn as they were finishing up some stuff. Edgar was trying to talk to me, but I don’t really recall what about as I was not very focused.

Then, although I didn’t want to, I said, “Jennifer, I’m going to faint.” And I sat down by the wall. Jennifer kicked into nurse mode (she is a nurse), asking me if I had breakfast and if I’d had anything to drink that morning. I answered her questions while her dad went and got me water. I never did pass out, although my vision went totally black.

Meanwhile, Con’s disc had a bad bearing and she wondered what was going on. She finally got ahold of Edgar and he told her I was having a “spell.” She was like, “What?!”

After sitting and drinking some water, I began to revive and my vision started coming back. Once I could get up, we got in the truck and headed back to the main farm for lunch. Till lunch was over I had a headache, but felt much better over all. Con said we could go home, but I decided to stick it out and keep discing. I was glad when we headed home mid-afternoon, though. It was the strangest fainting experience I have ever had, it felt like it drained my energy and left me with a terrible headache.

I was rather embarrassed at fainting over such a thing, but Edgar and Jennifer were super nice about it.

That evening  we had planned to go fishing. So once we got home, I washed out the boat while Con went to work at the shop. I also got a nap in and was able to enjoy a nice evening of fishing. Thanks, Lyle, for taking time out of your busy schedule to take us fishing!

1498918433110_2264689409_a360d0521498918433109_3889660138_a360d052(1)1498918433111_351756665_a360d0521498918433112_8366009678_a360d052

Thank you, Con, for sending me these fishing pictures!

And, thank you, Lyle and Connie, for putting up with me for so long. Winking smile I really enjoyed my time with y’all!

After a week and half in Michigan, I got a ride in to Virginia with Lyle and Connie. We drove to Pennsylvania and were there for a part of a day before heading on down to Virginia.

So, see you in Virginia next time!

Leave a Reply

